Life is Like A Novel. . . Sometimes

I’ve been doing a fair bit of research into novel structure lately, while trying to get my life on track and back into some kind of routine. However, not much in my life seems to be running according to plan, despite my best intentions. Exasperated, at one point I silently declared that my life was like a bad novel because everything kept going wrong.

And then I realised that this did not denote a bad novel, but an interesting one, full of drama, missed opportunities and plot changes which constantly evolve, thus motivating the characters to do something they might not have intended to do before.

(The only trouble with this plot is that it’s too indistinct and I have no idea where it’s all going to end up before the – I hope! – happy ending. Maybe this is how pantsers work?)

While it can be distressing to have too much drama in one’s actual life, this is the best thing for characters in novels. No one likes to read a novel about a character who has all his ducks in a row and his life perfectly planned, because that’s just too boring to read about. It’s fine to start a novel like this, but within a few pages there needs to be a catalyst that changes everything and throws all his plans into disarray, making him run constantly through the rest of the book, making new plans, troubleshooting, and generally trying to catch his breath before the next onslaught of plot points.

As writers, we have to capture the reader’s interest from the start, and then hold onto it while we fling them along the roller-coaster of the protagonist’s life, making then root and cheer with the highs, commiserate with the lows, and worry about the dangers.

All things considered, my life is not as dramatic and topsy-turvy as the lives I map out for the characters in my novels, but thinking about this did help me to put my own problems in perspective and give me a bit of distance from them.

It also gave me the motivation I needed to start thinking about my current WIP and what I’m going to throw at my characters in the New Year when I finally get time to carry on writing.

What about you? Does your life read like a bad novel? Or like an exciting one?

6 thoughts on “Life is Like A Novel. . . Sometimes

  1. Hope you had a joyous holiday, Susan.
    • ˚ •˛•˚ * 。 • ˚ ˚ ˛ ˚ ˛ •
    • ˚Happy★* 。 • ˚ ˚ ˛ ˚ ˛ •
    •。★Holidays!★ 。* • ˚。
    ° 。 ° ˛˚˛ * _Π______*。*˚
    ˚ ˛ •˛•˚ */______/。~\。˚ ˚ ˛
    ˚ ˛ •˛• ˚ | 田田 |田| ˚
    ˚ ˛ •˛• ˚ |_____­­­___­­­_|門|

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I read today that all humans think of their lives in a narrative fashion, with them at the center of the plot. So, good for you for trying to find the plot points in your difficulties. May 2018 bring you a lining of the ducks!

    Like

    • Thanks, Claudia. I’ve just read and enjoyed your latest post about your refusal to make New Year resolutions and that sounds like a really good way to start the year. May your ducks be given wind beneath their wings and take you to new heights!

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.